• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Democratic People’s Republic of Korea

Chosŏn Minchu-chui Inmin Konghwa-guk

Political Status: Communist people’s republic established on September 9, 1948.

Area: 46,540 sq. mi. (120,538 sq. km).

Population: 25,600,000 (2020E—UN); 25,643,466 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2015E—UN): PYONGYANG (2,863,000), Hamhung (576,000), Chongjin (631,000).

Official Language: Korean.

Monetary Unit: North Korean Won (market rate September 30, 2020: 900.02 won = $1US). The currency was last revalued in 2009.

Chair of the National Defense Commission: KIM Jong-un; served as de facto head of state from the death of President KIM Jong-il on December 17, 2011, until election to a five-year term by the Supreme People’s Assembly on April 13, 2012; reelected on April 9, 2014; reelected on April 11, 2019.

President of the Presidium of the Supreme People’s Assembly: CHOE Ryong-hae; elected by the Supreme People’s Assembly on April 11, 2019, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles