• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Republic of Kenya

Jamhuri ya Kenya

Political Status: Independent member of the Commonwealth since December 12, 1963; republic established in 1964; de facto one-party system, established in 1969, recognized as de jure by constitutional amendment on June 9, 1982; multiparty system approved by constitutional amendment on December 20, 1991; new constitution approved by referendum on August 4, 2011, providing for a mixed presidential-parliamentary system with a bicameral legislature.

Area: 224,960 sq. mi. (582,646 sq. km).

Population: 50,722,000 (2020E—UN); 53,527,936 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2016E—UN): NAIROBI (4,070,000), Mombasa (1,141,000).

Official Language: English. (Kiswahili is the national language.)

Monetary Unit: Kenyan Shilling (principal rate September 30, 2020: 108.40 shillings = $1US).

President: Uhuru KENYATTA (The National Alliance); elected by popular vote on March 4, 2013, and inaugurated for a five-year term on April 9, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles