• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Republic of Ireland


Political Status: Independent state since 1921; under republican constitution effective December 29, 1937.

Area: 27,136 sq. mi. (70,283 sq. km).

Population: 5,009,000 (2020E—UN); 5,123,219 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2018C—Government): DUBLIN (553,165), Cork (125,622), Galway (79,934), Limerick (57,106).

Official Languages: Irish (Gaelic), English.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate September 30, 2020: 0.85 euro = $1US).

President (Uachtarán na hÉireann): Michael D. HIGGINS (Labour); elected on October 27, 2011, and inaugurated for a seven-year term on November 11, succeeding Mary McALEESE (Fianna Fáil); reelected on October 28, 2018.

Prime Minister (Taoiseach): Micheál MARTIN (Fianna Fáil); nominated by the Dáil on June 27, 2020, and sworn in the same day in succession to Leo VARADKAR (Fine Gail).

The Country

The present-day Irish Republic, encompassing 26 of Ireland’s 32 historic counties, occupies all but the ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles