• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Islamic Republic of Iran

Jomhori-e Islami-e Irân

Political Status: Former monarchy; Islamic Republic proclaimed April 1–2, 1979, on basis of referendum of March 30–31; present constitution adopted in a referendum of December 2–3, 1979.

Area: 636,293 sq. mi. (1,648,000 sq. km).

Population: 84,174,000 (2020E—World Bank); 84,923,314 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2020E World Population Review): TEHRAN (7,153,309), Mashhad (2,307,177), Esfahan (1,547,164), Karaj (1,448,075), Tabriz (1,424,641).

Official Language: Persian (Farsi).

Monetary Unit: Rial (official rate September 30, 2020: 42,000.00 rials = $1US).

Supreme Religious Leader: Ayatollah Seyed Ali KHAMENEI; elected President October 2, 1981, and sworn in October 13, following the assassination of Mohammad Ali RAJAI on August 30; reelected August 16, 1985, and sworn in for a second four-year term on October 10; named Supreme Religious Leader by the Assembly of Experts on ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles