Republic of Iceland

Lyðveldið Ísland

Political Status: Independent republic established June 17, 1944, when present constitution was adopted, under democratic parliamentary system. Constitution last amended on June 24, 1999.

Area: 39,768 sq. mi. (103,000 sq. km).

Population: 364,000 (2020E—World Bank); 350,734 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2017E—UN): REYKJAVÍK (123,000).

Official Language: Icelandic.

Monetary Unit: Króna (market rate September 30, 2020: 138.40 krónur = $1US).

President: Guðni JÓHANNESSON (ind.); inaugurated on August 1, 2016, for a four-year term, succeeding Dr. Ólafur Ragnar GRÍMSSON (previously People’s Alliance).

Prime Minister: Katrin JAKOBSDÓTTIR (Left Green Movement); sworn in on November 30, 2017, to succeed Bjarni BENEDIKTSSON (Independence Party).

The Country

The westernmost nation of Europe, Iceland lies in the North Atlantic Ocean just below the Arctic Circle. Although one-eighth of the land surface is glacier, the warm Gulf Stream assures ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles