• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Cooperative Republic of Guyana

Political Status: Formerly the colony of British Guiana; independent member of the Commonwealth since May 26, 1966; under republican regime instituted February 23, 1970; present constitution approved February 11, 1980, with effect from October 6.

Area: 83,000 sq. mi. (214,969 sq. km).

Population: 778,000 (2020E—World Bank); 750,204 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2020E—World Population Review): Georgetown (235,017).

Official Language: English.

Monetary Unit: Guyanese Dollar (market rate September 30, 2020: 215.00 dollars = $1US).

President: Mohamed Irfaan ALI (People’s Progressive Party/Civic); elected on March 2, 2020, and sworn in on August 2 to succeed Brig. Gen. (Ret.) David Arthur GRANGER (A Partnership for National Unity. (See Government and Politics, below.)

Prime Minister: Bharrat JAGDEO (People’s Progressive Party/Civic); sworn in on August 2, 2020, succeeding Moses NAGAMOOTOO (Alliance for Change).

The Country

Noted ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles