Republic of Guinea

République de Guinée

Political Status: Independent republic since October 2, 1958; under one-party presidential regime until military coup of April 3, 1984; multiparty constitution approved by referendum of December 23, 1990, providing for five-year transition to civilian government; constitution suspended following military coup of December 23, 2008; constitutional order restored following Supreme Court ratification of presidential election results in December 2010; constitution amended on April 3, 2020, following popular referendum.

Area: 94,925 sq. mi. (245,857 sq. km).

Population: 13,967,000 (2020E—World Bank); 12,741,800 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2016E—UN): CONAKRY (1,989,000, urban area).

Official Language: French, pending adoption of Soussou or Malinké. (Six other languages are also spoken.)

Monetary Unit: Guinean Franc (market rate September 30, 2020: 9,737.00 francs = $1US).

President: Alpha CONDÉ (Rally of the Guinean People); elected after ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles