• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Hellenic Republic

Elliniki Dimokratia

Political Status: Gained independence from the Ottoman Empire in 1830; military rule imposed following coup of April 21, 1967; civilian control reinstituted July 23, 1974; present republican constitution promulgated June 11, 1975.

Area: 50,944 sq. mi. (131,944 sq. km).

Population: 10,688,000 (2020E—World Bank); 10,607,051 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2019E—UN): ATHENS (3,052,000), Thessaloniki (788,000), Patras (214,000), Heraklion (174,000).

Official Language: Greek.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate September 30, 2020: 0.85 euro = $1US).

President: Katerina SAKELLAROPOULOU (ind.); elected by Parliament on January 22, 2020, and sworn in for a five-year term on March 13, succeeding Prokopis PAVLOPOULOS (New Democracy).

Prime Minister: Kyriakos MITSOTAKIS (New Democracy); appointed prime minister by the president on July 8, 2019, following the legislative elections on July 7, to succeed Alexis TSIPRAS (SYRIZA).

The Country

Occupying the southern ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles