• Country
  • Countries A-Z


French Republic

République Française

Political Status: Republic under mixed parliamentary-presidential system established by constitution adopted by referendum of September 28, 1958, and instituted on October 4.

Area: 211,207 sq. mi. (547,026 sq. km).

Population: 64,994,000 (2020E—World Bank); 67,848,156 (2020E—U.S. Census). Area and population figures are for metropolitan France (including Corsica); for overseas departments and other dependent jurisdictions, see Related Territories, below.

Major Urban Centers (2018E—World Population Review): PARIS (2,138,551), Marseille (794,811), Lyon (472,317), Toulouse (433,055), Nice (338,620), Nantes (277,269), Strasbourg (244,845), Montpellier (248,252), Bordeaux (231,844), Lille (228,328), Rennes (209,375), Reims (196,565), Le Havre (185,972), Saint-Étienne (176,280).

Official Language: French.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate September 30, 2020: 0.85 euro = $1US).

President: Emmanuel MACRON (The Republic on the Move!); elected for a five-year term in runoff balloting on May 7, 2017, and inaugurated ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles