• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Kingdom of Eswatini

Note: On May 19, 2018, King Mswatti III signed a decree changing the name of the kingdom of Swaziland to the kingdom of Eswatini.

Political Status: Independent monarchy within the Commonwealth since September 6, 1968.

Area: 6,703 sq. mi. (17,363 sq. km).

Population: 1,115,000 (2020E—World Bank); 1,095,970 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2019E—World Population Review): MBABANE (administrative capital, 76,218), Lobamba (royal and legislative capital, 4,557), Manzini (110,537).

Official Languages: English, siSwati.

Monetary Unit: Lilangeni (official rate September 30, 2020: 16.85 emalangeni = $1US). The lilangeni is at par with the South African rand.

Sovereign: King MSWATI III; installed on April 25, 1986, succeeding (as Head of State) Queen Regent Ntombi THWALA.

Prime Minister: Ambrose Mandvulo DLAMINI; appointed by the king on October 27, 2018, and sworn in on October 29, following ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles