• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Equatorial Guinea

Republic of Equatorial Guinea

República de Guinea Ecuatorial

Area: 10,830 sq. mi. (28,051 sq. km).

Population: 1,400,000 (2020E—World Bank); 836,000 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2017E—UN): MALABO (165,000).

Official Language: Spanish. (French was adopted as a “commercial” language in September 1997 during a period of friction between Malabo and Madrid. In addition, various African dialects are spoken, and pidgin English serves as a commercial lingua franca.)

Monetary Unit: CFA franc (official rate September 30, 2020: 554.61 CFA francs = $1US). The CFA franc, previously pegged to the French franc, is now permanently pegged to the euro at 655.93 CFA francs = 1 euro.

President: Gen. Teodoro OBIANG Nguema Mbasogo (Democratic Party of Equatorial Guinea); assumed power as president of a Supreme Military Council following the ouster of MACIE (formerly Francisco Macías) Nguema ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles