• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Dominican Republic

República Dominicana

Political Status: Independent republic established in 1844; under constitutional regime reestablished July 1, 1966.

Area: 18,816 sq. mi. (48,734 sq. km).

Population: 10,472,000 (2020E—World Bank); 10,499,707 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2020E—UN): SANTO DOMINGO (3,317,784), Santiago (734,026).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Dominican Peso (market rate September 30, 2020: 48.14 pesos = $1US).

President: Luis ABINADER (Modern Revolutionary Party); elected on July 5, 2020, and inaugurated on August 16 for a four-year term, succeeding Danilo MEDINA Sanchez (Dominican Liberation Party).

Vice President: Raquel PEÑA de Antuña (Modern Revolutionary Party); elected on June 5, 2020, for a term concurrent with that of the president, succeeding Margarita Cedeňo de FERNANDEZ (Dominican Liberation Party).

The Country

The Dominican Republic occupies the eastern two-thirds of the Caribbean island of Hispaniola, which it shares with Haiti. The terrain ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles