• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Commonwealth of Dominica

Political Status: Former British dependency; joined West Indies Associated States in 1967; independent member of the Commonwealth since November 3, 1978.

Area: 290.5 sq. mi. (752.4 sq. km).

Population: 74,000 (2020E—World Bank); 74,100 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2018E—UN): ROSEAU (16,500).

Official Language: English. (A French patois is widely spoken.)

Monetary Unit: East Caribbean Dollar (official rate September 30, 2020: 2.70 dollars = $1US).

President: Charles SAVARIN (Dominica Labour Party); elected by the House of Assembly on September 30, 2013, and sworn in on October 2, succeeding Eliud Thaddeus WILLIAMS (Dominica Labour Party); reelected on October 1, 2018, and sworn in on October 2.

Prime Minister: Roosevelt SKERRIT (Dominica Labour Party); sworn in January 8, 2004, succeeding Pierre CHARLES (Dominica Labour Party), who died on January 6; remained in office ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles