• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Kingdom of Denmark

Kongeriget Danmark

Political Status: Constitutional monarchy since 1849; under unicameral parliamentary system established in 1953.

Area: 16,629 sq. mi. (43,069 sq. km).

Population: 5,840,000 (2020E—World Bank); 5,869,000 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2016E—UN): COPENHAGEN (1,281,000, metropolitan area).

Official Language: Danish.

Monetary Unit: Krone (market rate September 30, 2020: 6.36 kroner = $1US).

Sovereign: Queen MARGRETHE II; proclaimed queen on January 15, 1972, following the death of her father, King FREDERIK IX, on January 14.

Heir to the Throne: Crown Prince FREDERIK, elder son of the queen.

Prime Minister: Mette FREDERIKSEN (Social Democratic Party); appointed by the Queen on June 26, 2019, to succeed Lars Løkke RASMUSSEN (Liberal Party), following the general election of June 5; formed a coalition government on June 27.

The Country

Encompassing a low-lying peninsula and adjacent islands strategically situated at ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles