• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Cyprus: Turkish Sector

Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus

Kuzey Kıbrıs Türk Cumhuriyeti

Political Status: Autonomous federal state proclaimed February 13, 1975; independent republic (thus far recognized only by Turkey) declared November 15, 1983; TRNC constitution approved by referendum of May 6, 1985.

Area: Approximately 1,400 sq. mi. (3,626 sq. km).

Population: 350,000 (2020E—Government), Turkish Cypriot estimates, which include nonindigenous settlers (more than half of the total).

Major Urban Centers (2018E—Government): LEFKOŞA (Turkish-occupied portion of Nicosia, 94,000), Gazimağusa (Famagusta, 69,000), Kyrenia (69,000).

Principal Language: Turkish.

Monetary Unit: Turkish Lira (market rate September 30, 2020: 7.77 Turkish liras = $1US). Use of the Cyprus pound as an alternative unit of exchange was terminated on May 16, 1983.

President: Ersin TATAR (National Unity Party); elected in the second round of popular balloting on October 18, 2020, to succeed Mustafa ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles