• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Republic of Croatia

Republika Hrvatska

Note: In parliamentary elections on July 5, 2020, a coalition led by the Christian Democratic Union (HDZ) won a plurality with 37.3 percent of the vote and 66 seats followed by an electoral alliance led by the Social Democratic Party which secured 24.9 percent of the vote and 41 seats. Incumbent prime minister Andrej Plenković remained in office.

Political Status: Former constituent republic of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia; constitution proclaiming Croatian sovereignty promulgated December 21, 1990; independence declared June 25, 1991; dissociation from Yugoslavia approved by the Croatian Assembly effective October 8, 1991.

Area: 21,829 sq. mi. (56,538 sq. km).

Population: 4,038,000 (2020E—World Bank); 4,227,746 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2019E—UN): ZAGREB (793,588), Split (178,505), Rijeka (118,587).

Official Language: Croatian.

Monetary Unit: Kuna (market rate September ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles