• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Republic of The Congo

République du Congo

Political Status: Independent since August 15, 1960; one-party People’s Republic proclaimed December 31, 1969; multiparty system authorized as of January 1, 1991; constitution approved in referendum of March 15, 1992, suspended in October 1997 following overthrow of the government; constitution adopted by referendum of January 20, 2002; current constitution adopted by referendum on October 25, 2015.

Area: 132,046 sq. mi. (342,000 sq. km).

Population: 4,682,000 (2020E—World Bank); 5,293,070 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2016E—UN): BRAZZAVILLE (1,949,000).

Official Language: French.

Monetary Unit: CFA Franc (official rate September 30, 2020: 554.61 francs = $1US). The CFA franc, previously pegged to the French franc, is now permanently pegged to the euro at 655.957 CFA francs = 1 euro.

President: Gen. Denis SASSOU-NGUESSO (Congolese Labor Party); sworn in on October 25, 1997, following ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles