• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Republic of Chile

República de Chile

Political Status: Independent republic since 1818; present constitution approved September 11, 1980 (in effect from March 11, 1981), partially superseding military regime instituted in 1973; fully effective as of March 11, 1990.

Area: 292,256 sq. mi. (756,945 sq. km).

Population: 19,458,000 (2020E—World Bank); 18,186,770 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2017E—UN): SANTIAGO (5,613,962), Puente Alto (625,551), Antofagasta (388,545), Viña del Mar (289,478), Valparaíso (247,695), Concepción (260,746).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Peso (market rate September 30, 2020: 788.39 pesos = $1US).

President: Sebastián PIÑERA (ind., endorsed by Chile Vamos); elected in the second round of a presidential runoff election on December 17, 2017, and inaugurated on March 11, 2018, to succeed Michelle BACHELET (New Majority).

The Country

Occupying a narrow strip along about 2,700 miles of South America’s west coast, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles