• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Republic of Botswana

Political Status: Independent republic within the Commonwealth since September 30, 1966.

Area: 224,607 sq. mi. (581,730 sq. km).

Population: 2,378,000 (2020E—World Bank); 2,300,000 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2020E—World Population Review): GABORONE (208,411), Francistown (89,979), Molepolole (63,248), Selebi-Pikwe (53,727).

Official Language: English (Setswana is widely spoken).

Monetary Unit: Pula (official rate September 30, 2020: 11.53 pula = $1US).

President: Mokgweetsi MASISI (Botswana Democratic Party); elevated from the vice presidency (as constitutionally ordained) on April 1, 2018, to succeed Lt. Gen. (Ret.) Seretse Khama Ian KHAMA (Botswana Democratic Party), who retired on March 31 after reaching the ten-year maximum term of office allowed by the constitution; reelected by the assembly on October 25, 2019, and sworn in on November 1.

Vice President: Slumber TSOGWANE (Botswana Democratic Party); appointed by the president ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles