• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Plurinational State of Bolivia

Estado Plurinacional de Bolivia

Political Status: Independent republic proclaimed 1825; civilian government reestablished in October 1982 after virtually constant military rule since September 1969; present constitution promulgated on February 7, 2009.

Area: 424,162 sq. mi. (1,098,581 sq. km).

Population: 11,353,142 (2018E—World Bank); 11,639,909 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2018E—World Population Review): LA PAZ (administrative capital, 812,799), Sucre (judicial capital, 224,838), Santa Cruz (1,364, 389), Cochabamba (900, 414).

Official Languages: Spanish, Aymará, Quechua (Aymará and Quechua were adopted as official languages in 1977).

Monetary Unit: Boliviano (market rate September 30, 2020: 6.83 bolivianos = $1US).

President: Jeanine ÁÑEZ Chávez (Social Democratic Movement); appointed acting president by the legislature on November 12, 2019, following the resignation of Juan Evo MORALES Ayma (Movement to Socialism) on November 10, who had been elected ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles