Republic of Benin

République du Bénin

Political Status: Independent Republic of Dahomey established August 1, 1960; military regime established October 26, 1972, becoming Marxist one-party system 1972–1975; name changed to People’s Republic of Benin on November 30, 1975; name changed to Republic of Benin on February 28, 1990, by National Conference of Active Forces of the Nation, which also revoked constitution of August 1977; multiparty constitution approved by popular referendum on December 2, 1990.

Area: 43,483 sq. mi. (112,622 sq. km).

Population: 11,814,000 (2020E—World Bank); 11,646,392 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2019E—World Population Review): PORTO-NOVO (234,168), Cotonou (780,000).

Official Language: French.

Monetary Unit: CFA franc (official rate September 30, 2020: 556.00 CFA francs = $1US). The CFA franc is permanently pegged to the euro at 655.93 CFA francs = 1 euro.

President: Patrice ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles