• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Kingdom of Belgium

Koninkrijk België (Dutch)

Royaume de Belgique (French)

Königreich Belgien (German)

Political Status: Independence proclaimed October 4, 1830; monarchical constitution of 1831 most recently revised in 1970.

Area: 11,781 sq. mi. (30,513 sq. km).

Population: 11,517,000 (2020E—World Bank); 11, 720,716 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2019E—UN): BRUSSELS (2,090,000), Antwerp (1,200,000), Ghent (260,341), Charleroi (201,816), Liège (197,355), Bruges (118,214), Namur (110,939).

Official Languages: Dutch, French, German.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate September 30, 2020: 0.85 euro = $1US).

Sovereign: King PHILIPPE; ascended the throne on July 21, 2013, following the abdication of his father, King ALBERT II.

Heir to the Throne: Princess ELISABETH, daughter of the king.

Prime Minister: Sophie WILMÉS (Socialist); appointed by the king on October 27, 2019, on an acting basis following elections on May 26, and sworn in on March 16, 2020, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles