Commonwealth of the Bahamas

Political Status: Independent member of the Commonwealth since July 10, 1973.

Area: 5,380 sq. mi. (13,935 sq. km).

Population: 385,640 (2019E—UN); 335,212 (2019E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2019E): NASSAU (286,405).

Official Language: English.

Monetary Unit: Bahamian Dollar (market rate September 30, 2020: 1.00 dollar = $1US).

Sovereign: Queen ELIZABETH II.

Governor General: Sir Cornelius SMITH; appointed on June 28, 2019, following the retirement of Dame Marguerite PINDLING.

Prime Minister: Hubert Alexander MINNIS (Free National Movement); sworn in on May 11, 2017, to succeed Perry G. CHRISTIE (Progressive Liberal Party), following the election on May 10, 2017.

The Country

The Commonwealth of the Bahamas encompasses a group of about 700 flat, coral islands stretching from the western Atlantic near Florida to the Caribbean Sea. Geomorphically an extension of the Little and Great Bahama ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles