Republic of Austria

Republik Österreich

Political Status: Federal republic established in 1918; reestablished in 1945 under Allied occupation; independence restored under the Four-Power Treaty of July 27, 1955.

Area: 32,376 sq. mi. (83,853 sq. km).

Population: 8,847,000 (2019E—World Bank); 8,883,000 (2019E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2018E—UN): VIENNA (1,877,836), Graz (325,021), Linz (197,400), Salzburg (150,887), Innsbruck (130,894).

Official Languages: German, Croatian (in Burgenland), Slovene (in Carinthia).

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate September 30, 2020: 0.85 euro = $1US).

Federal President: Alexander VAN DER BELLEN (ind., formerly Social Democratic Party of Austria, backed by the Greens); elected in runoff balloting on December 4, 2016, and inaugurated on January 26, 2017, to succeed Doris BURES (Social Democratic Party of Austria), Karlheinz KOPF (Austrian People’s Party), and Norbert HOFER (Freedom Party of Austria). The collective presidency was ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles