• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Republic of Armenia

Hayastani Hanrapetoutioun

Political Status: Armenian Republic established on November 29, 1920; joined the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) as part of the Transcaucasian Soviet Socialist Republic on December 30, 1922; became a constituent republic of the USSR on December 5, 1936; independence declared by the Armenian Supreme Soviet September 23, 1991, following national referendum of September 21; mixed presidential–parliamentary system established by a new constitution in 1995; parliamentary system established by new constitution, approved by referendum on December 6, 2015, and implemented with elections on April 2, 2017.

Area: 11,506 sq. mi. (29,800 sq. km).

Population: 2,951,776 (2020E—World Bank); 3,030,288 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2019E—UN): YEREVAN (1,080,000).

Official Language: Armenian.

Monetary Unit: Dram (market rate September 30, 2020: 484.00 drams = $1US).

President: Armen SARKISYAN (ind., formerly Republic); ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles