South Asian Association For Regional Cooperation (SAARC)

Established: By charter signed December 8, 1985, in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

Purpose: “[T]o promote the welfare of the peoples of South Asia and to improve their quality of life; . . . to promote and strengthen collective self-reliance among the countries of South Asia; . . . to promote active collaboration and mutual assistance in the economic, social, cultural, technical and scientific fields; . . . and to co-operate with international and regional organizations with similar aims and purposes.”

Headquarters: Kathmandu, Nepal.

Principal Organs: Meeting of Heads of State or Government, Council of Ministers, Standing Committee, Programming Committee, Technical Committees, Secretariat.


Secretary-General: Amjad Hussain B. Sial (Pakistan).

Membership (8): Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka.

Observers (9): Australia, China, European Union, Iran, Japan, Mauritius, Myanmar, South Korea, United States.

Official Language: English.

Origin and development. Prior to the formation of SAARC, South ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles