• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela

República Bolivariana de Venezuela

Political Status: Independence originally proclaimed in 1821 as part of Gran Colombia; independent republic established in 1830; federal constitutional system restored in 1958. Current constitution approved by referendum on December 15, 1999.

Area: 358,850 sq. mi. (916,445 sq. km).

Population: 32,381,000 (2018E—World Bank); 31,689,176 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2016E—UN): CARACAS (2,923,000), Maracaibo (2,229,000), Valencia (1,757,000), Maracay (1,186,000), Barquisimeto (1,044,000).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Bolívar (market rate October 19, 2018: 62.83 bolívares fuertes = $1US). [Note: devalued February 2013.]

President: Nicolás MADURO (United Socialist Party of Venezuela); inaugurated on April 19, 2013, for a five-year term, following the death of Lt. Col. (Ret.) Hugo Rafael CHÁVEZ Frías (United Socialist Party of Venezuela) on March 5, 2013; reelected on May 21, 2018, for six-year term.

Executive ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles