• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Republic of Uzbekistan

Ozbekiston Respublikasi

Political Status: Eastern portion of Turkistan Soviet Socialist Republic detached on October 27, 1924, to form Uzbek Soviet Socialist Republic within the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic (RSFSR); became constituent republic of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) on May 12, 1925; declared independence as Republic of Uzbekistan on August 31, 1991; present constitution adopted on December 8, 1992.

Area: 172,740 sq. mi. (447,400 sq. km).

Population: 32,663,000 (2018E—World Bank); 30,023,709 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2015E—UN): TASHKENT (2,251,000), Namangan (521,000), Andijan (402,000), Samarkand (364,000).

Official Language: Uzbek. Russian remains the principal everyday language.

Monetary Unit: Uzbekistani som (market rate October 19, 2018: 8,184.11 som = $1US).

President: Shavkat MIRZIYOYEV (MIRZIYAYEV) (Liberal Democratic Party); elected as acting president by the Supreme Assembly on September 8, 2016, to ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles