United Arab Emirates

al-Imarat al-Arabiyah al-Muttahidah

Political Status: Federation of six former Trucial States (Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Sharjah, and Umm al-Qaiwain) established December 2, 1971; the seventh, Ras al-Khaimah, joined on February 10, 1972.

Area: 32,278 sq. mi. (83,600 sq. km).

Population: 9,542,000 (2018E—World Bank); 6,215,216 (2018E—U.S. Census). Comprises seven sovereign emirates: Dubai (3,089,000, 2018E—World Population Review); Sharjah (1,442,000, 2018E—World Population Review); Abu Dhabi (1,252,000, 2018E—World Population Review), Ajman (323,000, 2018E—World Population Review); Ras al-Khaimah (300,000, 2018E—World Population Review); Fujairah (203,000, 2018E—World Population Review); and Umm al-Qaiwain (73,000, 2018E—World Population Review).

Major Urban Center (2018E—World Population Review): ABU DHABI (603,492).

Official Language: Arabic.

Monetary Unit: Emirati Dirham (market rate October 19, 2018: 3.67 dirhams = $1US).

Supreme Council: Composed of the rulers of the seven emirates (in order by dates of accession): Sheikh ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles