• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Republic of Uganda

Political Status: Independent member of the Commonwealth since October 9, 1962; republican constitution adopted on September 8, 1967; personal military rule (instituted on January 25, 1971) overthrown with establishment of provisional government on April 11, 1979; military regime installed on January 29, 1986; present constitution adopted on September 22, 1995, with effect from October 8; amended by public referendum on July 28, 2005, to provide for multiparty system.

Area: 93,104 sq. mi. (241,139 sq. km).

Population: 44,536,000 (2018E—World Bank); 40,853,749 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2016E, urban area—UN): KAMPALA (2,012,000).

Official Language: English (Swahili and Luganda are widely used).

Monetary Unit: Ugandan Shilling (market rate October 19, 2018: 3,760.31 Ugandan shillings = $1US).

President: Lt. Gen. Yoweri Kaguta MUSEVENI (National Resistance Movement); sworn in on January 29, 1986, following ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles