• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Republic of Tunisia

al-Jumhuriyah al-Tunisiyah

Political Status: Independent state since 1956; republic proclaimed July 25, 1957; under one-party dominant, presidential regime; interim government formed following civil unrest that resulted in the ouster of the president on January 14, 2011.

Area: 63,170 sq. mi. (163,610 sq. km).

Population: 7,867,000 (2018E—World Bank); 11,516,189 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2017E—UN): TUNIS (693,210), Sfax (277,278), Sousse (164,123), Midoun (120,000), Kairoun (119,794), Bizerte (115,268).

Official Language: Arabic; French is widely spoken as a second language.

Monetary Unit: Tunisian Dinar (market rate October 19, 2018: 2.84 dinars = $1US).

President: Beji Caid ESSEBSI (Nidaa Tounes); elected in runoff balloting on December 21, 2014, and sworn in for a five-year term on December 31, to succeed Moncef MARZOUKI (Congress for the Republic).

Prime Minister: Youssef CHAHED (Nidaa Tounes); appointed by ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles