• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka Prajatantrika Samajawadi Janarajaya (Sinhala)

Llankais Sananayaka Socialisak Kutiyarasa (Tamil)

Political Status: Independent since February 4, 1948; present constitution adopted on August 6, 1978, effective September 7.

Area: 25,332 sq. mi. (65,610 sq. km).

Population: 21,394,000 (2018E—World Bank); 22,576,592 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2014E—UN): SRI JAYEWARDENEPURA (Kotte, administrative capital, 128,000), Colombo (Kolamba, commercial capital, 650,000).

Official Languages: Sinhala, Tamil. English is recognized as a link language.

Monetary Unit: Sri Lankan Rupee (market rate October 19, 2018: 170.73 rupees = $1US).

President: Maithripala SIRISENA (New Democratic Front); elected president on January 8, 2015, and sworn in January 9 for a six-year term, succeeding Mahinda RAJAPAKSE (United People’s Freedom Alliance).

Prime Minister: Ranil WICKREMESINGHE (United National Party); designated by the president and sworn in on January 9, 2015, succeeding ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles