• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Republic of South Africa

Republiek van Suid-Afrika

Political Status: Fully independent state since 1934; republic established May 31, 1961; Interim Constitution ratified on December 22, 1993, with effect from April 27, 1994, for a five-year term; new text signed into law on December 10, 1996, effective February 4, 1997, with certain provisions implemented gradually through 1999.

Area: 470,882 sq. mi. (1,221,037 sq. km).

Population: 57,360,000 (2018E—World Bank); 55,380,210 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (urban areas, 2016E—UN): PRETORIA (administrative capital, 2,125,000), Cape Town (legislative capital, 3,698,000), Bloemfontein (judicial capital, 503,000), Johannesburg (9,616,000), Durban (2,914,000), Port Elizabeth (1,186,000), Vereeniging (1,164,000). Pretoria is part of the City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality.

Official Languages: There are 11 official languages, of which English and Afrikaans are the languages of record.

Monetary Unit: Rand (market rate October ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles