• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Republic of Singapore

Xinjiapo Gongheguo (Chinese)

Republik Singapura (Malay)

Singapur Kutiyarasu (Tamil)

Political Status: Attained self-rule within the British Commonwealth June 3, 1959; joined in formation of Malaysia on September 16, 1963; independent republic since August 9, 1965.

Area: 246 sq. mi. (636 sq. km), including adjacent islets that encompass some 15 sq. mi. (39 sq. km).

Population: 5,762,000 (2018E—UN); 5,995,991 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2016E—UN): SINGAPORE (5,717,000).

Official Languages: Chinese (Mandarin is the preferred form), English, Malay, Tamil.

Monetary Unit: Singapore Dollar (market rate October 19, 2018: 1.38 dollars = $1US).

President: HALIMAH binti Yacob (nonparty, formerly People’s Action Party); declared president-elect on September 13, 2017; inaugurated on September 14 for a six-year term; succeeding Tony TAN Keng Yam (nonparty).

Prime Minister: LEE Hsien Loong (People’s Action Party); sworn in on August 12, 2004, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles