• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Republic of Rwanda

République Rwandaise (French)

Republika y’u Rwanda (Kinyarwanda)

Note: In legislative balloting on September 3, 2018, the Rwandan Patriotic Front–led coalition won 40 of the 53 directly elected seats. The Social Democratic Party secured 5 seats, followed by the Liberal Party with 4, while the opposition groupings, the Social Party Imberakuri and the Democratic Green Party of Rwanda, each won 2 seats.

Political Status: Republic proclaimed January 28, 1961; independent since July 1, 1962; multiparty constitution adopted June 10, 1991, but full implementation blocked by ethnic-based fighting; peace agreement signed August 4, 1993, in Arusha, Tanzania, providing for transitional government and multiparty elections by 1995; twenty-two month transitional period announced January 5, 1994; new transitional government installed on July 19, 1994, by the Rwandan Patriotic Front (FPR) ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles