• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Kingdom of Norway

Kongeriket Norge

Political Status: Constitutional monarchy established in 1905; under multiparty parliamentary system.

Area: 149,115 sq. mi. (386,209 sq. km), including Svalbard and Jan Mayen (see Related Territories).

Population: 5,343,000 (2018E—World Bank); 5,372,000 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2016E): OSLO (989,000), Bergen (254,000), Stavanger (221,000), Trondheim (181,000).

Official Language: Norwegian.

Monetary Unit: Krone (official rate October 19, 2018: 8.23 kroner =$1US).

Sovereign: King HARALD V; succeeded to the throne January 17, 1991, upon the death of his father, King OLAV V.

Heir to the Throne: Crown Prince HAAKON Magnus, son of the king.

Prime Minister: Erna SOLBERG (Conservative Party); appointed by the king on October 16, 2013, succeeding Jens STOLTENBERG (Norwegian Labor Party), who had submitted his resignation on the same day, following the election of September 9; reappointed on September 30, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles