• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Republic of Nauru


Political Status: Independent republic since January 31, 1968; special membership in the Commonwealth changed to full membership on May 1, 1999.

Area: 8.2 sq. mi. (21.3 sq. km).

Population: 13,000 (2018E—World Bank); 9,692 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers: None; the Domaneab (“meeting place of the people”), which is the site of the Nauru Local Government Council, is located in Uaboe District, while government offices are located in Yaren District.

Official Languages: Nauruan. English is widely spoken and is used for most governmental and commercial purposes.

Monetary Unit: Australian Dollar (market rate October 19, 2018: 1.40 Australian dollars = $1US).

President: Baron WAQA; elected by Parliament on June 11, 2013, following legislative elections on June 8, and inaugurated the same day to succeed Sprent DABWIDO; reelected on July 13, 2016.

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles