• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Kingdom of Morocco

al-Mamlakat al-Maghribiyah

Political Status: Independent since March 2, 1956; constitutional monarchy established in 1962; present constitution approved by referendum on July 1, 2011.

Area: 274,461 sq. mi. (710,850 sq. km), including approximately 97,343 sq. mi. (252,120 sq. km) of Western Sahara, two-thirds of which was annexed in February 1976 and the remaining one-third claimed upon Mauritanian withdrawal in August 1979.

Population: 36,192,000 (2018E—World Bank); 34,314,130 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2015E—World Population Review): RABAT/SALE (1,655,753), Casablanca (3,144,909), Fez (964,891), Sale (903,485), Agadir (698,310), Marrakesh (839,296), Tangier (688,356).

Official Languages: Arabic and Tamazight.

Monetary Unit: Dirham (official rate October 19, 2018: 9.43 dirhams = $1US).

Sovereign: King MOHAMED VI became king on July 23, 1999, following the death of his father, HASSAN II.

Heir to the Throne: Crown Prince MOULAY HASSAN.

Prime Minister: ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles