• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Republic of Mauritius

Political Status: Constitutional monarchy under multiparty parliamentary system established upon independence within the Commonwealth on March 12, 1968; became a republic on March 12, 1992.

Area: 790 sq. mi. (2,045 sq. km).

Population: 1,269,000 (2018E—UN); 1,364,283 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2016E—UN): PORT LOUIS (155,226, Beau Bassin/Rose Hill (111,355), Vacoas-Phoenix (110,000).

Official Language: English (French is also used, while Creole is the lingua franca and Hindi the most widely spoken).

Monetary Unit: Mauritian rupee (official rate October 19, 2018: 33.63 rupees = $1US).

President: Paramasivum Pillay (Barlen) VYAPOORY (Mauritian Socialist Movement); elevated from the vice presidency to acting president on March 23, 2018, to succeed Ameenah GURIB-FAKIM (ind.), who resigned that day.

Vice President: Paramasivum Pillay (Barlen) VYAPOORY (Mauritian Socialist Movement); elected by the National Assembly on March 29, 2016, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles