• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Republic of Malta

Repubblika ta’ Malta

Political Status: Became independent within the Commonwealth on September 21, 1964; republic declared by constitutional amendment on December 13, 1974.

Area: 122 sq. mi. (316 sq. km).

Population: 439,000 (2018E—World Bank); 417,381 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2016E—Government): VALLETTA (6,444, Birkirkara (22,247), Mosta (20,241, Qormi (16,799), Sliema (16,854).

Official Languages: Maltese, English; Italian is also widely spoken.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate October 19, 2018: 0.87 euro = $1US). The euro became Malta’s official currency on January 1, 2008, at a fixed rate of 1 euro = 0.4293 Maltese lira.

President: Marie-Louise COLEIRO PRECA (Malta Labour Party); elected on April 1, 2014, to a five-year term by the House of Representatives and sworn in on April 4, succeeding George ABELA (Malta Labour Party). (Presidents resign from their ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles