• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Republic of Malawi

Political Status: Independent member of the Commonwealth since 1964; republic under one-party presidential rule established July 6, 1966; constitution amended on June 22, 1993, to provide for multiparty activity following national referendum of June 15; new constitution enacted provisionally as of May 16, 1994, and adopted permanently (as amended) on May 18, 1995.

Area: 45,747 sq. mi. (118,484 sq. km).

Population: 19,1650,000 (2018E—UN); 19,842,560 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2015E—UN): LILONGWE (905,000), Blantyre-Limbe (808,000).

Official Language: English. (Chichewa is classified as a national language.)

Monetary Unit: Kwacha (market rate October 19, 2018: 720.79 kwacha = $1US).

President: Peter MUTHARIKA (Democratic Progressive Party); popularly elected on May 20, 2014, and sworn in on May 31 to succeed Joyce BANDA (People’s Party).

Vice President: Saulos CHILIMA (Democratic Progressive Party); popularly elected along ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles