• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Republic of Lithuania

Lietuvos Respublika

Political Status: Independence from Russia declared February 16, 1918; absorption of independent state by the Soviet Union on August 3, 1940, repudiated on March 11, 1990, by the Lithuanian Supreme Council; independence recognized by the USSR State Council on September 6, 1991; current constitution approved by referendum of October 25, 1992.

Area: 25,174 sq. mi. (65,200 sq. km).

Population: 2,840,000 (2018E—World Bank); 2,793,284 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2018E—UN): VILNIUS (574,221), Kaunas (312,120), Klaipėda (164,310), Panevėžys (98,598), Šiauliai (107,086).

Official Language: Lithuanian.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate October 19, 2018: 0.87 euro = $1US). Lithuania joined the European Union in 2004, and adopted the euro in January 2015. The Litas was the currency until December 31, 2014.

President: Dalia GRYBAUSKAITĖ (nonparty); elected in first-round balloting on May ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles