• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Republic of Kiribati

I Kiribati

Political Status: Formerly the Gilbert Islands; became a British protectorate in 1892; annexed as the Gilbert and Ellice Islands Colony in 1915, the Ellice Islands becoming independent as the state of Tuvalu in 1978; present name adopted upon becoming an independent member of the Commonwealth on July 12, 1979.

Area: 313 sq. mi. (811 sq. km).

Population: 118,000 (2018E—World Bank); 109,367 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2016E—UN): BAIRIKI (4,000).

Official Language: I-Kiribati (Gilbertese); English is also widely spoken.

Monetary Unit: Australian Dollar (market rate October 19, 2018: 1.40 Australian dollar = $1US). The British Pound is also in circulation.

President: Taneti MAMAU (Tobwaan Kiribati Party); popularly elected on March 9, 2016, and sworn in for four-year term on March 11, succeeding Anote TONG (Boutokaan te Koaua).

Vice President: Kourabi ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles