• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Hellenic Republic

Elliniki Dimokratia

Political Status: Gained independence from the Ottoman Empire in 1830; military rule imposed following coup of April 21, 1967; civilian control reinstituted July 23, 1974; present republican constitution promulgated June 11, 1975.

Area: 50,944 sq. mi. (131,944 sq. km).

Population: 10,726,000 (2018E—World Bank); 10,761,523 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2015E—UN): ATHENS (3,052,000), Thessaloniki (737,000).

Official Language: Greek.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate October 19, 2018: 0.87 euro = $1US).

President: Prokopis PAVLOPOULOS (New Democracy); elected by Parliament on February 18, 2015, and sworn in on March 13 for a five-year term, succeeding Karolos PAPOULIAS (Panhellenic Socialist Movement).

Prime Minister: Alexis TSIPRAS (SYRIZA); appointed as prime minister by the president on September 21, 2015, following legislative elections on September 20; to succeed Vassiliki THANOU-CHRISTOPHILOU (independent), who was appointed to lead a ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles