• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Republic of Finland

Suomen Tasavalta (Finnish)

Republiken Finland (Swedish)

Political Status: Independent since December 6, 1917; republic established July 17, 1919, under presidential-parliamentary system.

Area: 130,119 sq. mi. (337,009 sq. km).

Population: 5,526,000 (2018—World Bank); 5,537,364 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2017E—UN): HELSINKI (629,512), Espoo (269,802), Oulu (200,526), Tampere (225,118).

Official Languages: Finnish, Swedish.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate October 19, 2018: 0.87 euro = $1US).

President: Sauli NIINISTÖ (ind., formerly National Coalition Party); elected in second-round balloting on February 5, 2012, and inaugurated for a six-year term on March 1, 2012, succeeding Tarja HALONEN (Finnish Social Democratic Party); reelected on January 28, 2018, and inaugurated on March 1.

Prime Minister: Juha SIPILÄ (Finnish Center); approved by the legislature and sworn in on May 29, 2015, as the leader of a three-party coalition government to ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles