• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Republic of the Fiji Islands

Matanitu Tu-Vaka-i-koya ko Viti (Fijian)

Fiji Ripablik (Hindustani)

Political Status: Voluntarily assumed the status of a British dependency in 1874; became an independent member of the Commonwealth on October 10, 1970; republic declared on October 15, 1987; country led by military-backed interim government 2006–2014; 1998 constitution abrogated by presidential decree on April 10, 2009, and a new constitution signed into law September 19, 2013; elections on September 17, 2014, restored civilian constitutional government, which remains in place.

Area: 7,055 sq. mi. (18,272 sq. km).

Population: 884,887 (2017—Fiji Bureau of Statistics); 912,000 (2018E—World Bank); 926,276 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2015E—UN): SUVA (176,000, urban area).

Official Languages: English, Fijian (Na Vosa Vakaviti), and Hindustani (Fijian Hindi).

Monetary Unit: Fiji Dollar (official rate October 19, 2018: 2.10 dollars = $1US).

President: ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles