• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Republic of Ecuador

República del Ecuador

Political Status: Gained independence from Spain (as part of Gran Colombia) in 1822; independent republic established in 1830; present constitution approved by a constituent assembly elected September 30, 2007, and in effect from September 28, 2008.

Area: 109,482 sq. mi. (283,561 sq. km), excluding the region previously in dispute with Peru, but including the Galápagos Islands.

Population: 16,863,000 (2018E—World Bank); 16,498,502 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2015E—UN): QUITO (1,726,000), Guayaquil (2,709,000), Cuenca (361,000), Santo Domingo (316,000).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: U.S. Dollar. The dollar was phased in from January 2000 to March 2001 to replace the sucre as Ecuador’s legal tender.

President: Lenín MORENO Garces (Country Alliance); elected in second-round voting on April 4, 2017, and inaugurated on May 24, 2017, to succeed Rafael CORREA Delgado ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles