Dominican Republic

República Dominicana

Political Status: Independent republic established in 1844; under constitutional regime reestablished July 1, 1966.

Area: 18,816 sq. mi. (48,734 sq. km).

Population: 10,883,000 (2018E—World Bank); 10,860,656 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2017E—UN): SANTO DOMINGO (3,000,000), Santiago (734,026).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Dominican Peso (market rate October 19, 2018: 49.76 pesos = $1US).

President: Danilo MEDINA Sánchez (Dominican Liberation Party); elected on May 20, 2012, and inaugurated on August 16 for a four-year term, succeeding Leonel Antonio FERNÁNDEZ Reyna (Dominican Liberation Party); reelected on May 15, 2016.

Vice President: Margarita Cedeño de FERNÁNDEZ (Dominican Liberation Party); elected on May 20, 2012, for a term concurrent with that of the president, succeeding Rafael ALBUQUERQUE De Castro (Dominican Liberation Party); reelected along with the president on May 15, 2016.

The Country

The Dominican Republic ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles