• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Kingdom of Denmark

Kongeriget Danmark

Political Status: Constitutional monarchy since 1849; under unicameral parliamentary system established in 1953.

Area: 16,629 sq. mi. (43,069 sq. km).

Population: 5,772,000 (2018E—World Bank); 5,618,075 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2016E—UN): COPENHAGEN (1,281,000, metropolitan area).

Official Language: Danish.

Monetary Unit: Krone (market rate October 19, 2018: 6.49 kroner = $1US).

Sovereign: Queen MARGRETHE II; proclaimed queen on January 15, 1972, following the death of her father, King FREDERIK IX, on January 14.

Heir to the Throne: Crown Prince FREDERIK, elder son of the queen.

Prime Minister: Lars Løkke RASMUSSEN (Liberal Party); appointed by the Queen on June 20, 2015, to succeed Helle THORNING-SCHMIDT (Social Democratic Party), following the general election of June 18; formed a coalition government on June 28.

The Country

Encompassing a low-lying peninsula and adjacent islands strategically situated at ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles