• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Česká Republika

Political Status: Independent Czechoslovak Republic proclaimed in 1918; People’s Republic of Czechoslovakia established June 9, 1948; redesignated Czechoslovak Socialist Republic on July 11, 1960; renamed Czech and Slovak Federative Republic on April 21, 1990; present Czech Republic proclaimed upon separation of the constituent components of the federation on January 1, 1993.

Area: 30,450 sq. mi. (78,864 sq. km).

Population: 10,571,000 (2018E—World Bank); 10,686,269 (2018E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2018E—UN): PRAGUE (1,290,000), Brno (379,527), Ostrava (290,450), Plzeň (170,936), Karlovy Vary (48,776).

Official Language: Czech.

Monetary Unit: Koruna (market rate October 19, 2018: 22.50 koruna = $1US).

President: Miloš ZEMAN (Party of Civic Rights—Zemanovci); elected by the people in the second round of balloting on January 26, 2013, and sworn in for a five-year term on March 8 to replace Václav KLAUS ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles